Home IPL Game Harshal Patel’s tried Mankad reminds followers of Ashwin and Buttler from 2019

Harshal Patel’s tried Mankad reminds followers of Ashwin and Buttler from 2019

Harshal Patel’s tried Mankad reminds followers of Ashwin and Buttler from 2019


On April tenth, through the IPL match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Lucknow Tremendous Giants, a possible mankading incident occurred. With only one run wanted from two balls and RCB needing only one wicket to push the sport into an excellent over, Harshal Patel pulled out earlier than releasing the ball simply as he approached the stumps. 

Harshal makes an attempt to Mankad 

The non-striker Ravi Bishnoi had run out of the crease, backing up too shortly. Harshal tried to flick the bails off, however he missed and stored working forward with the momentum. His bowling arm hadn’t handed the perpendicular, which might imply he had accomplished the motion and couldn’t run out a non-striker who has backed up too far. 

Nonetheless, Harshal had stored working on the wicket a bit too far. Bishnoi was nonetheless out of the crease by a distance. Harshal rotated, fired down the stumps with a throw, and appealed. The umpire prompt that Harshal needed to full the run-out in a easy motion the place you abort the bowling motion however swiftly take away the bails. Since Harshal had run too far down the observe, he couldn’t make the run-out.

Tremendous over missed

RCB nonetheless had an opportunity for an excellent over. Avesh Khan missed the following ball, and Bishnoi hurried throughout. He wouldn’t have made it to security in time, however Dinesh Karthik, the wicketkeeper, failed to gather the ball cleanly in his hurry to get able to throw down the stumps. By the point he collected himself and the ball, it was too late. Bishnoi was inside, and on the different finish, Avesh Khan hurled his helmet on the bottom in aid. 

This incident is similar to a previous mankading incident involving Ravichandran Ashwin in IPL 2019. In that incident, Ashwin ran out Jose Butler on the non-striker’s finish as he was out of his crease even earlier than the ball was bowled. This motion created an argument, and it continues to be a subject of debate concerning whether or not such dismissals are towards the spirit of the sport. Nonetheless, the ICC has now termed these kinds of dismissals as ‘run out,’ and since October 1, 2022, it now not sits within the ‘unfair play’ part of its rule e-book.

Written by Rishabh Rastogi

Keep up to date with all of the cricketing motion, comply with Cricadium on FbTwitterand Instagram



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here